Games, programming, and Magic: the Gathering. What more could you want?

Wishful Thinking


Well, I did the Global Game Jam this weekend (solo!) and didn’t quite manage a game to the extent that I wanted. It started off pretty awesome, but I ended up adding actual gameplay (simple enemy logic and a survival mechanic) in order to end up with a game rather than a tech demo. I did this in the last hour before submission, so it was essentially an alpha version. Not bad for 20 hours, though.
How does this relate to Crystal Lotus? Well, much of the engine that I developed for this RPG is easily reusable, and the data-driven format makes it even better. I started experimenting with Perlin Noise algorithms to generate terrain as well, meaning that it’s possible to create an extensible world. Additionally, Perlin Noise algorithms could be used to determine AI traits/features in a manner better than mere random numbers – related traits would located nearby each other on the generated texture, allowing for a certain amount of dependency and randomness without hardcoding it in.

Comments on: "Wishful Thinking" (2)

  1. Heh. First thing I thought when reading this was that Crystal Lotus was becoming a new MTG: Tactics šŸ˜€

  2. Not likely… I’ve heard BAD things about that game, and I wasn’t even able to run it on my computer…
    Whatever I do, I’m going to (try to) do it right. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

